Press Releases


Contact: Linda Johnson
WCA Hospital Public Relations
(716) 664-8614


WCA Hospital
Mrs. Betsy T. Wright, WCA Hospital President/CEO; Sawaran Bambrah, M.D., 2008 Physician of the Year; Thomas Andrews, M.D., WCA Hospital Medical Staff President.

Jamestown, New York (Wednesday, April 23, 2008)—Dr. Thomas Andrews, WCA Hospital Medical Staff President, recently presented the “2008 Physician of the Year” award to Sawaran Bambrah, M.D., long-time, local Internal Medicine physician. The award is an honor given annually to one outstanding physician who possesses significant practice experience, compassion, and community involvement, along with a commitment to a healthier community.

"Dr. Bambrah is an exemplary choice for the Physician of the Year award,” Dr. Andrews said. "He personifies the key characteristics for which the award is given. He is always there when we need him.  He delivers a high level of consistent care to our patients and possesses outstanding qualities as an accomplished physician who is truly dedicated to his profession.”

Appointed to the WCA Hospital Medical Staff in April 15, 1974, Dr. Bambrah received his medical degree from Punjab University in Amritsar, Punjab India and completed a residency in Internal Medicine from New Britain General Hospital in New Britain, Connecticut.  He completed a fellowship in hematology at New Britain General Hospital.

Board certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine with a certification in Hematology, Dr. Brambrah has served as Chairman of the Department of Medicine; Vice-Chairman of the Department of Medicine and Coronary Care at the hospital.  He has also served on the Infection Control, Utilization Management, Radiation Protection, Transfusion, Executive, Special Care and Respiratory Care Committees at WCA Hospital.

"We are proud to partner with physicians such as Dr. Bambrah," says Mrs. Betsy T. Wright, President/CEO of WCA Hospital. "He truly makes a valued difference at WCA and this award is a testament to his hard work and dedication to our hospital and the medical profession."

Previous recipients of the Physician of the Year award are Bert Rappole, M.D., Surgeon; and Ranjit Laha, M.D., Neurosurgeon.  The award has been presented annually, since 2006.

A special breakfast was held during the award ceremony in recognition of National Doctors Day, held during the month of March.  Keynote speaker for the event was Stan Lundine, Chair, New York State Commission on Local Government.

The first Doctors’ Day observance was held on March 30, 1933 by the County Auxiliary in Winder, Georgia.  The idea of setting aside a day for physicians was conceived by Eudors Brown Almond, wife of Dr. C. Almond.  March 30 was selected because on that date in 1842 a physician from Georgia, Dr. Crawford W. Long, first used ether anesthesia during surgery.  President Bush and Congress proclaimed the first National Doctors’ Day in 1991 to honor the invaluable contributions of physicians to the welfare of the country.

Home | Our Services | Patients & Family | Find A Doctor | Your Health | About WCA | Careers

WCA Hospital • 207 Foote Avenue • PO Box 840 • Jamestown, NY 14702-0840

Images and text contained in this site are the property of WCA Hospital.
Reproduction without permission is strictly prohibited.
Copyright ©2004-2010 WCA Hospital. All rights reserved.