Press Releases

Patricia Cline Named
2008 Volunteer of the Year

Pictured lt. to. rt.: Judith Burgett, Chair, WCA Hospital Board of Directors; Betsy T. Wright, WCA Hospital President/CEO; Patricia Cline, 5 Star Volunteer of the Year Recipient; Suzanne Sawyer, WCA Volunteer Coordinator.

One hundred and thirty three volunteers were recently honored for their hours of service at the annual WCA Hospital 2008 Volunteer Recognition and Awards Luncheon. Mrs. Patricia Cline was named Volunteer of the Year, receiving the 5 Star Volunteer Award. Recognized for demonstrating extraordinary service and dedication while exemplifying the qualities reflected in the WCA Hospital's mission, Patricia has served as a volunteer since 1999.

The Luncheon included remarks from Betsy T. Wright, WCA Hospital President/CEO, Judith Burgett, newly appointed Chair of WCA Board of Directors; and Suzanne Sawyer, WCA Hospital Volunteer Coordinator. Evelyn Walzer, WCA Auxiliary Treasurer, presented pins to volunteers in acknowledgement of their hours of service in 2007. Sawyer reported 470 volunteers gave 47,240 hours of service in 2007.

"I always welcome the opportunity to express my sincere thanks and appreciation to you, our volunteers," said Betsy T. Wright, WCA Hospital President/CEO. "WCA is a special place with a special mission and you are truly a special group of people. Your smiling faces and unwavering assistance to our WCA family are felt in every department of the hospital. You create a positive impression that defines what WCA is all about. On behalf of the Board of Directors, the medical staff, the employees and most importantly, our patients, I thank you for your dedication, support and commitment to your community and to our patients."

Suzanne Sawyer, Volunteer Coordinator remarked, "Your commitment truly shines through every time you enter our doors. Your unselfish gift of time and genuine concern for others enables WCA to continue to grow and provide the highest level of care possible. I am so privileged to be surrounded by individuals whose only reason for being here is to make a difference in someone else's life!"

Bruce Easterling, Barbara Booth and Robert Gray were recognized for the most hours served in 2007. Joilathan Kerrado, Kimberly Millan, and Rafael Kerrado were recognized for the most student hours served. Hour guard pins were presented to the following volunteers: 19,000 hour guard: William Warner. 13,000 hour guard: Janet Anderson. 10,500 hour guard: Bruce Easterline. 9,500 hour guard: Barney Edson. 8,000 hour guard, Lou Baglia. 6,500 hour guard, George Campbell. 6,000 hour guard: Sally Gustafson. 4,500 hour guard, Minerva Laughlin. 4,000 hour guard, Phyllis Gustavson. 3,500 hour guard, Barbara Booth, Robert Gray. 3,000 hour guard, Robert Scott. 2,500 hour guard, Martha Love, Jean Moran, Mary Paterniti. 2,000 hour guard, Patricia Cline, Helen Cronk, Janet Tomb. 1,500 hour guard: Gloria Johnson, Kathleen Stuart, Betty Thomas. 1,000 hour guard, Betty Barber, Bradley Jimerson, Ann Legters, Glenda Lyon, Eve Pickett, Lynn Radack, Gloria Raymond. 900 hour guard: Brian Adams, Margaret Anderson, Shirley Caffoe, Betty Carlson, Ingrid Kilburn, Phyllis Sorenson. 800 hour guard: Martha Everhart, Margaret Fuchs, Betty Kohlbacher, Robert Matson. 600 hour guard: Joan Erickson, Clarice Gates, Lois McCreary, Linda Rublee. 500 hour guard: William Baggiano, Larry Bourney, Bruce Herron. 400 hour guard, Pat Berg, Joe Chimera, Jack Crate, Eric Eckberg, Paul Lewis, Sara McClintock, Dian Moses. 300 hour guard: James Calamungi, Roberta Graham, Chris Wight. 200 hour guard: Pat Christo, Stephanie Ernst, Deborah Gordon, Gary Howard, Maria Jackobson, April Johnson, Ron Littlejohn, Shirley Miller, David Panko, Mary Pasco, Sam Pellerito. 100 hour guard: Karen Johnson, Margaret Kibler, Bruce Lindahl, Diana Lindstrom, Sherwood VanDewark.

WCA Auxiliary Board Members recognized for hours of service were: 3,000 hour guard: Pat Phillips, Sarah Khan. 2,500 hour guard: Edie Boscarino, Denise Klizek, Mary Ann Pappalardo. 2,000 hour guard: Sara Vail. 1,500 hour guard: Laura Gutzmer, Judy Littlejohn, Evelyn Walzer. 1,000 hour guard: Linda Johnson. 200 hour guard: Uma Vejendla.

The following volunteers were recognized for service in 2007, but have not reached their next award level: Diane Adams, Cynthia Baker, Donna Beal, Patty Bennett, Gordon Bloomberg, Kay Burch, Sonya Burkett, Jane Campbell, Linnea Carlson, Mary Carpenter, Dolores Chimera, Elaine Cowan, Virginia Crist, Patricia Dunn, Mary Jane Engwall, Connie Flowers, Hila Franzen, Robert Herring, Nancy Holt, Marion Hull, Barbara Jennings, Jeanne Johanson, Evelyn Johnson, Ken Kilburn, Pat Kinney, Janet Klenck, Elba Lawson, Helen Lindquist, Sylvia Lucas, Jim Lucey, Steven Miller, Joe Miraglia, Phyllis Newman, Charles Norquist, Ila Mae Olsen, Carl Raineir, Phyllis Ramsey, Mildred Roach, Bill Rollinger, Sam Sabino, Shirley Scalise, Don Smith, Laura Swanson, Patricia Urso, Alberta Webster, Lolis Weiss, Ron Wilcox, Cecil Wilson.

Anyone interested in volunteering can contact the WCA Volunteer Office at 664-8388. For more information about volunteer services, visit their website

"Your friendliness, compassion and dedication are unsurpassed as our patients move through the hospital experience and we value your support," said Mrs. Judith Burgett, Chair, WCA Hospital Board of Directors, who gave the closing remarks. "Thank you for the boundless energy you have so generously given."

Back to Press Releases


Home | Our Services | Patients & Family | Find A Doctor | Your Health | About WCA | Careers

WCA Hospital • 207 Foote Avenue • PO Box 840 • Jamestown, NY 14702-0840

Images and text contained in this site are the property of WCA Hospital.
Reproduction without permission is strictly prohibited.
Copyright ©2004-2010 WCA Hospital. All rights reserved.